Eating like the young Ben

One of my favorite historic figures it Ben Franklin. I love the story about how he saved money to buy books by eating a vegetarian diet when he was young. Unfortunately, buy the time he was living in France he was eating so “high on the hog” that he was suffering from Gout. I must admit I have been eating like Ben in Paris for way too long. Lately, however I have been eating vegetarian. The cost for eating vegetarian is half of what I usually spend. Birmingham has some great barbeque restaurants and it is so easy to drive up and get something everyone in my family will eat. However, its killing my budget and my waistline. Tomorrow, I am fixing vegetarian, gluten free and dairy free lasagna for Thanksgiving. I’m still fixing a meaty Thanksgiving for my husband and kids but the vegetarian lasagna is better than any turkey.

Leave a comment