Job Searching

Sunday afternoon I decided that I would ask for a job at the cute specialty store in a neighborhood near where I live. The woman working at the counter looked like she was the owner.  I thought I would give it a try. She was very nice. At first she said they didn’t have any openings. Somewhere along the line I mentioned that I have a degree from Samford University. She said, both her and her husband had Samford degrees. We talked about professors from Samford. We talked about what our kids do for a living. She talked about how many business they own. I left my name and number in case her husband wanted more sales help. Do I think I will get the job? This morning I give it a 50/50 chance. The experience was positive, however, next time I will do some things different. I will have my resume ready instead of winging it. Even if I don’t get the job next time I have to ask for a job it won’t be quite so difficult or so humbling.

Leave a Reply

